Clean practice ammo for .38 Airweight

This is a discussion on Clean practice ammo for .38 Airweight within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; What would you recommend for clean, practice ammo with a Model 642? Before I recently bought mine I tried 148 gr Wadcutters. I'd prefer something ...

Thread: Clean practice ammo for .38 Airweight

Clean practice ammo for .38 Airweight

What would you recommend for clean, practice ammo with a Model 642? Before I recently bought mine I tried 148 gr Wadcutters. I'd prefer something that's clean and will also allow me to develop some shooting accuracy with a snub; I'm not experienced with revolvers at all and I think I may want to make this my EDC. I will buy some Federal HydraShok to test as a defense load but want something I can practice shoot with that's clean but will give a similar feel to the JHP defense load if that's possible. Thank you.
    Glock 26, Ruger LCR, Glock 19
    Non curo. Si metrum non habet, non est poema. "I don't care. If it doesn't rhyme, it isn't a poem."

2. Remove Ads

Quote Originally Posted by bameroni View Post
    What would you recommend for clean, practice ammo with a Model 642? Before I recently bought mine I tried 148 gr Wadcutters. I'd prefer something that's clean and will also allow me to develop some shooting accuracy with a snub; I'm not experienced with revolvers at all and I think I may want to make this my EDC. I will buy some Federal HydraShok to test as a defense load but want something I can practice shoot with that's clean but will give a similar feel to the JHP defense load if that's possible. Thank you.
    I use a lot of winchester white box for practice in my 38's and 357's. I do not think you can go wrong with the price and performance.

Ammo

Try some of the 130gr or 132gr FMJ available from many manufacturers. It's pretty mild so it's easy to shoot in your airweight, and the FMJ wont lead up your barrel.