Federal HST amazes...

Federal HST amazes...

This is a discussion on Federal HST amazes... within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I bought a box of Federal 9mm 124 Gr. HST from Tactical Defense Solutions because I had heard about how great it was. Now, I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Federal HST amazes...

Federal HST amazes...

I bought a box of Federal 9mm 124 Gr. HST from Tactical Defense Solutions because I had heard about how great it was. Now, I am no ballistics expert but wanted to shoot it and recover the bullet to see the expansion. I just used the old gallon jug filled with water deal this morning. The bullet passed through 3 jugs and almost penetrated the 4th. Recovered the bullet from the jug and I'm telling you it was a thing of beauty! It looked exactly like the pictures from Federal. I had no idea it would be this perfect. You could not have drawn a better picture of how the petals expanded. I had been carrying Hydra-Shoks in my G26 up to this point as I thought they were top notch. Needless to say my mags have been restocked. The only other test I have been able to do (due to lack of empty gallon jugs... hey, I can only drink milk and orange juice so fast so give me a break) was with my Kel-Tec P3AT and 90 Gr. Hydra-Shoks. The bullet did expand but the petals were not uniform at all and expansion was not even close to the HST. I'm sure a lot of people already know this stuff but I was caught off guard by this product. In my book there is certainly a new sheriff in town.
    Allen

-"I may get killed with my own gun, but he's gonna have to beat me to death with it, 'cause it's going to be empty." -Clint Smith

Not a great picture at all but I think you can see the difference in the 9mm HST at the top and the .380 Hydra-Shok at the bottom. Again, sorry about the picture quality.
    Attached Images
    Allen