.380 or .38?

.380 or .38?

This is a discussion on .380 or .38? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have a 380 now and am thinking about getting a .38 snubbie,how does each stack up for defense?thanks.sj...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: .380 or .38?

.380 or .38?

I have a 380 now and am thinking about getting a .38 snubbie,how does each stack up for defense?thanks.sj

Distinguished Member Array GWRedDragon's Avatar
    Pretty sure that 38spl+p is generally considered a better round.
    "Trust in God with hand on sword" -Inscription on my family's coat of arms from medieval England
    ---Carry options: G26/MTAC, PF9/MiniTuck, PPK/Pocket, USP40/OWB---
    ---NOTE: I am not an expert. If I ever start acting like a know-it-all, please call me on it immediately. ---

It's a topic that has been widely debated.

I wouldn't want to get shot by either one. Just carry what you're comfortable with and can consistently hit with.
    Training means learning the rules. Experience means learning the exceptions.

Distinguished Member Array ripley16's Avatar
    IMHO, it is a matter of how well you can shoot/conceal/control/etc. one over the other. Personally, though I have carried both, I am more proficient with an automatic than I am a revolver. Reliability of the firearm and your ability with it are as much or more important than what round it holds.

Add the snubbie to your collection, then you can carry either or both.
    What do you like? What are you more accurate with? Which is easier to carry?
    The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.

Certified Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member[/B]

Quote Originally Posted by sjones View Post
    I have a 380 now and am thinking about getting a .38 snubbie,how does each stack up for defense?thanks.sj