School me on Shotgun Slugs

This is a discussion on School me on Shotgun Slugs within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to shotguns and I just purchased a Mossberg 500a. I was looking at slugs the other day and had some questions. What ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: School me on Shotgun Slugs

I am new to shotguns and I just purchased a Mossberg 500a. I was looking at slugs the other day and had some questions.

What is the difference between a rifled slug and a sabot slug? Which works better? Does it matter if I have a smooth bore or a rifled bore?

Anything else that I should know about slugs?

Thanks guys

JD
    Administrator
    It does matter.

Rifled slugs are for smooth bore barrels, as there is no rifling, you need a rifled slug to get spin.

Sabot slugs are used in rifled slug barrels.

As for which is better, I don't think there's much of a difference in effect. IIRC a sabot slug/rifled barrel combo is more accurate as the sabot projectile has better properties for travel. But I'm not much of a shotgun expert so don't quote me on that.

Rifled slugs are much cheaper than sabots, too.

Assuming self defense purposes, the cheapest rifled 1 oz. slugs will do nicely out to 50 yards or so at actual aim point; they start dropping after that, up to about 5" at 100 yards.

Of course, "50 yards" and "self-defense" aren't exactly simpatico.

- OS

One thing I have noticed is that most shotguns have different POI with slugs and even different ammo ,so you need to find out how your shotgun patterns slugs at different ranges and most of your shots will be within 25 yards or less.Same thing with buckshot try a couple different brands and see which one patterns better in your gun I've seen some slugs out of a smoothbore shotgun at 25 yards and aiming COM miss the whole B27 silhouette
    "Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,"