Browning pro40

Browning pro40

This is a discussion on Browning pro40 within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; i am new to auto pistols. most of my hand gun shooting has been sixshooter guns. my question is i see many talking about if ...

Thread: Browning pro40

Question Browning pro40

i am new to auto pistols. most of my hand gun shooting has been sixshooter guns.
    my question is i see many talking about if your gun will take this or that ammo. is there a particular bullet choice for the hand gun auto pistols? , meaning some will some wont shoot it. before i go and buy ammo i would rather get heads up on what will and wont perform in my personal choice pistol . i have shot range winchester 165 beb in it and that shoots fine no mishaps as of yet.but again this is all new to me and i rather not spend money on ammo i should not have . thank you for any responses .don

Welcome to the world of "bottomfeeders".

The general rule of thumb is, shoot 500 Rounds of 'ball ammo to break in your pistol with cleaning every 100 - 200 Rounds. Then, with a clean fresh gun, run 200 Rounds of your chosen "carry ammo" through the gun. If that happens without a malfunction, clean it, load it and go.

If you get a malfunction, for any reason during the "carry ammo" test, fix the problem, be it you, the gun or the ammo, and start again at Round 1/200. This gives you 700 Rounds through your new gun, at a minimum. That's good for training.

I'm "breaking in" a Browning Hi Power right now for my daily off duty carry gun. I will finish "breaking it in" at a Shooting School. That way, I get training with my new gun, and have fun putting rounds downrange.