Like Some Advice On A 44 Mag Round

This is a discussion on Like Some Advice On A 44 Mag Round within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I would like a little off topic advice on a good 44 mag hunting round. I have a boar hunt planned for Fathers Day and ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Like Some Advice On A 44 Mag Round

VIP Member

Like Some Advice On A 44 Mag Round

I would like a little off topic advice on a good 44 mag hunting round. I have a boar hunt planned for Fathers Day and have a new 44 mag revolver that I been practicing with Winchester white box 240 gr. I like to get the opinion of others of a good round for this hunt and caliber. Grain, hollow point, soft point, brand? The 44 mag is a new caliber for me so I have little experience for a good round with what I have planned. The revolver is a Taurus Rageing Bull with a 6 1/2 barrell. I appreciate the feedback.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    Hollow points will cause shallow wounds. You want to use soft points that will expand and still provide good penetration. Try the Speer 270gr soft point. That's what I use for Bambi Bashing through my Marlin 1894. Haven't tried the round out of my revolver yet, but I imagine it's gonna bark pretty good.
    CCW permit holder for Idaho, Utah, Pennsylvania, Maine and New Hampshire. I can carry in your country but not my own.

VIP Member
    When I had my .44 mag I used 240 gr jacketed soft points. They provided good penetration as well as good expansion.

What kind of revolver do you have? Depending on the guns style and weight 240 gr might be all the abuse you want to take. A well constructed 240 gr semi wadcutter half jacket is a wicked round. Up untill the late 70's it was about the only thing you could buy but it still offers some expansion great penetration and hold together great.