Which is Better for CCW -- .40 or .357 SIG?

This is a discussion on Which is Better for CCW -- .40 or .357 SIG? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I know this is an old debate. But I am still relatively new at CCW. I have a Glock G23 that I am using for ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Which is Better for CCW -- .40 or .357 SIG?

I know this is an old debate. But I am still relatively new at CCW. I have a Glock G23 that I am using for EDC. I am already planning on getting a 9mm conversion for my G23 -- just to cut the cost of practice ammo and to increase my flexibility in the face of the ammo shortage.

Someone is offering me a KKM G23 barrel for .357 SIG. I have heard that:

• .357 SIG has more knockdown power
    • .357 SIG may over-penetrate
    • .357 SIG is more $$$$
    • .40 is just as good with good JHP for knockdown
    • .357 SIG is LOUDER
    • .357 SIG is more fun to shoot
    • .357 SIG almost never jams or FTF
    • Some LEOs switched from .40 to .357 because they were not happy with .40
    • The .357 SIG does not REALLY reproduce the power of the classic .357 revolver ammo.

I am not interested in comments from those of you with wheel guns in .357 -- I KNOW that it a round with a lot of fans and a well-deserved reputation. I am strictly interested in comparing .40 to .357 SIG.

Have any of you got BOTH a .40 and a .357 SIG? If you have both which do you carry and why? Do any of you have experience with a KKM conversion for Glock? Would you take this offer? Why or why not?

Thanks!!!!
    ....a politically incorrect right-wing fiscally-conservative libertarian NRA card-carrying gun-toting self-sufficient gainfully-employed Bible-believing church-going fundamentalist evangelical Christian. Perhaps you should avoid my company. I might contaminate you.

Quote Originally Posted by Horseman04 View Post
    There's no such thing as "knockdown" power.