Federal HST vs Winchester Ranger Talon

This is a discussion on Federal HST vs Winchester Ranger Talon within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I was wondering if anyone here uses "Winchester's Ranger Talon ammunition" i really need some more defensive ammo & just cant get it (we currently ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Federal HST vs Winchester Ranger Talon

I was wondering if anyone here uses "Winchester's Ranger Talon ammunition" i really need some more defensive ammo & just cant get it (we currently have been using Federal HST) the Federals are awesome, no matter what we shoot it out of it opens perfectly every time but i have no experience with the Winchester & it looks like i can get some of that.....

P.S.... I still havent been able to run my usual 100 rounds of carry ammo through the Kimber UC2 i bought a couple months ago. I only had enough HST's to fill the magazine & blow off like 20 (i think it was)
    Kimber Eclipse Target 2
    Glock 19 (3rd Gen)
    DiamondBack DB9
    Kahr PM9 (wife's edc)
    NRA Life Member

I hope you are not carrying that Kimber with the HSTs yet. Put at least 150-200 of any one SD round through it before you do. Really, any good proven .45 HP will work for you, just make sure it functions in the gun first. I might be pickier when it comes to the 9mm. My 9mm carries only HST but I've put 150 through it already.

Winchester Talons, Gold Dot, HST, Golden Saber, etc... once tested in your Kimber will all do their part if you do yours.
    Jeff
    NRA Member
    Kimber Ultra Carry II, Glock G23 & G36, Kahr PM9, Winchester 1300 Defender 12gauge pump
    (my favorite but hard to hide)

Senior Member Array Hydrashok Glock's Avatar