.40SW v .45 ACP

.40SW v .45 ACP

This is a discussion on .40SW v .45 ACP within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am NOT wanting a discussion of which caliber is the best for any of the usual parameters discussed when comparing calibers. What I am ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: .40SW v .45 ACP

.40SW v .45 ACP

I am NOT wanting a discussion of which caliber is the best for any of the usual parameters discussed when comparing calibers.

What I am looking for is opinion from shooters of both as to recoil and controllability in compact guns such as the Glock 27/30 and the Taurus PT140 and 145.

I have been looking for a new carry gun and the .40 has caught my attention. Other than shooting a mag full in a friend's Glock 23, I have no experience with the .40. My .45 experience is limited to full size 1911-frame guns and it was not a pleasant experience for my small hands.

Recoil, by itself doesn't bother me in revolvers, but a semi-auto is a different animal.

Thanks for any insight.
    An armed society is a polite society. Manners are good when one may have to back up his acts with his life. - Robert A. Heinlein

Some could likely give a more full assesment, but I have a mid-sized .40 cal semi-auto, it's an old Astra A-75, which is one heck of a nice pistol and quite heavy for it's size.

To me the recoil of it is more than that of the full size 1911 in .45. It's not bad but it is snappy.

I fired a Glock full size a couple of days ago in .40 and it was not as bad as my .40. In fact about equal qith a 1911 or maybe a bit less.

That's all I know.
    When you've got 'em by the balls, their hearts & minds will follow. Semper Fi.

EW3
    I've found the .40 actually has more felt recoil and muzzle flip than the .45

My vote goes for the .45
    "Naked and Starving as They are We Cannot Enough Admire the Incomparable Patience and Fidelity of the Soldiery" George Washington, Valley Forge, 1777.