Several 9mm & 45acp Tests vs Water and Phonebooks

This is a discussion on Several 9mm & 45acp Tests vs Water and Phonebooks within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I did some homemade ballistics testing using water jugs, water jugs filled with newspaper and wet phone books. Below you will see some pictures with ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Several 9mm & 45acp tests vs Water and Phonebooks

Several 9mm & 45acp tests vs Water and Phonebooks

I did some homemade ballistics testing using water jugs, water jugs filled with newspaper and wet phone books. Below you will see some pictures with the ruff measurements I came up with. I also included my thoughts and general observations on the rounds. Please note these are only my opinion and I am no ballistics expert, I know there is no magic bullet and that shot placement trumps all.

PB = Shot into phone books that had been soaked for 18 hours.
    WJN = Shot into water jugs that had been filled with newspaper. Usually only the first 2 jugs had newspaper then last 2 jugs filled with only water.
    WJ = Shot into plain water jugs
    WJN+Pork Ribs = I taped some leftover pork ribs to the front of water jugs and put a cotton t-shirt over. Only 1 shot, would like to do more testing but I prefer to eat my baby back ribs, not shoot them.

Bullets are from left to right in the pictures. When I am giving the max and min measurements I am refer to the 6 talons or pedals. The max and min from outside petal to petal. Also I took some measurements of the core for bullets that have the jacket protrude from the core i.e. Ranger-T and Golden Saber. test weapons were HK p30 and HK 45c. Shots were from about 10-15 feet.

Winchester Ranger-T 230gr 45 acp

PB
    max= .99 min= .98 core= .82
    max= .96 min= .93 core= .82
    WJN
    max= .96 min= .82 core= .72
    WJ
    max= 1.00 min= .98 core= ..87