Defensive Carry banner

Recommendation Needed: Ammo for P239 .40S&W

5K views 17 replies 8 participants last post by  GoodyFH 
#1 ·
Hello All,

Well, I'm finally getting my hands on the P239 .40S&W that I have coveted for the last few months.

Now I need a recommendation from folks regarding ammo to feed the beast. Range ammo is one thing, but I want to hear opinions on what I should load my magazines with for self defense use as my daily carry.

I'm not sure if there are any ammo restrictions, but if it matters I am a Florida resident.

Thanks in advance!

#2 ·
I use Winchester Ranger T 180gr (RA40T). I would also not hesitate to use Federal HST 180gr, or Speer Gold Dot 180gr.

Tactical Defense Solutions has all 3 in stock. The HST is larger expanding, but I ordered the Rangers before the HST became available. All about $30 per box of 50.

You could pick a load off the list at Best Choices for Self Defense Ammo and be ok

In Florida you have no restrictions on ammo.

Reactions: Ranger45
#4 ·
The reason I chose the Ranger over the Gold Dot was because I don't anticipate shooting through barriers which is where the Gold Dot shines. I'm not an LEO so I don't ever forsee having to make a shot through a car window for example. The Rangers seemed to expand better in typical defense situations (bare ballistic gel and covered gel). The HST outclasses both in expansion and holds together well through barriers, but since the Gold Dot is bonded, it will always be the better choice for that situation (rare/never).

#5 ·
#7 ·
Both are junk and there's much info about them and how the manufacturer is/was unwilling to provide any for testing to Dr. Roberts who is a very respected ballistics expert. The short of it is, don't waste your time.

If you ook it up on The Boxotruth they do some tests and the claims the manufacturer makes are all proven false. Poor penetration to reach vitals on a BG was the main concern.

#6 ·