HD .45 ACP suggestions

This is a discussion on HD .45 ACP suggestions within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Guys, Any good suggestions for me to put in my new Sig P250 chambered in .45? I would like some recommendations for HD that would ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HD .45 ACP suggestions

VIP Member

HD .45 ACP suggestions

Guys,

Any good suggestions for me to put in my new Sig P250 chambered in .45? I would like some recommendations for HD that would work well in protecting my family. Sure I could go out and grab a box of HP's but I would like to hear brand and grain suggestions.

Sorry for the questions, but I have been shooting 9mm's for 10 years and decided to step up with the big boys.
    Ccccccc what? Ccccccccccc Hawks!

2. Remove Ads

I prefer the 185 or 200 grain +p varieties. YMMV
    Proud houlder of a Texas Open Carry License.

VIP Member
    I tend to stay with the 230gr. loads. Regular or +P, I don't think it really matters in a .45. I like Federal HST's...
    "Texas can make it without the United States, but the United States can't make it without Texas!".... Sam Houston

Retired LEO
    Firearms Instructor
    NRA Life Member

I'm partial to the Remington Golden Sabers.

Distinguished Member Array airslot's Avatar
    230gr Winchester Ranger T or Federal HST.
    The situation will NEVER BE THE WAY YOU WANT, it WILL BE THE WAY IT IS. You must be FLEXIBLE ENOUGH TO ADAPT and just "DEAL WITH IT".

Distinguished Member Array orangevol's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ram Rod View Post
    I'm partial to the Remington Golden Sabers.
    + 1 Golden Saber bonded 230gr in my XD .45 Compact
    Proud NRA member

Split ticket here. Inside my home, the .45s are loaded with Winchester 185 gr Silvertip for reduced penetration. When I leave the house, Federal 230 gr Hydra-Shoks are in the guns.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member