G19

This is a discussion on G19 within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I finally decided that I had to find out what all the magic is surrounding "GLOCK" weapons. Please forgive the fact that I'm new to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: G19

Question G19

I finally decided that I had to find out what all the magic is surrounding "GLOCK" weapons. Please forgive the fact that I'm new to all this stuff, (41 years after Vietnam I'm just getting back to guns) but when I review the specs for the gun under ammo it says 9x19. I have a S&W 9mm and I use 9mm Luger ammo. Is there a difference? Can someone tell me what this is all about?
    Thanks guys,
    Jack
    SEMPER FI
    Life member: DAV
    Life member: USMC
    Life member: MOPH
    Member: NRA
    Life member: VVA

2. Remove Ads

JD
    Administrator
    Yes, 9X19=9mm Luger

Read this: 9x19mm Parabellum

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by JD View Post
    Yes, 9X19=9mm Luger

Read this: 9x19mm Parabellum
    Thanks, it was an interesting article.
    Jack
    SEMPER FI
    Life member: DAV
    Life member: USMC
    Life member: MOPH
    Member: NRA
    Life member: VVA

Hello jackg:

I'd like to try to answer this if I may.

I'm a career cop. I bought my first Glock, a G17 9mm, in 1991. My fellow officers thought that I was crazy since it wasn't a S&W .357 Magnum revolver. In the time that has followed, those same skeptical officers are now carrying Glocks in .40 on duty. To put it simply, Glocks absolutely WORK as often as you can reasonably expect something made by man to work and lemons are rare. In the past 20 years, I've owned all manner of Glock pistols, and I've NEVER had a single one that was unreliable out of the box. My experiences echoes that of my fellow officers and civilian concealed carry permit holders whom I've trained over the last decade.

Empirical evidence?