Kind of new to .45

Kind of new to .45

This is a discussion on Kind of new to .45 within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Well, Not really. I'm new to CARRYING a .45. My bedside gun is a Colt 1911 series 80 which I keep loaded with Speer gold ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kind of new to .45

Kind of new to .45

Well, Not really. I'm new to CARRYING a .45. My bedside gun is a Colt 1911 series 80 which I keep loaded with Speer gold dot 230 grain. my old carry piece was a S&W 908 which I loaded with 147 grain speer gold dots. Again, every thing worked fine. I just purchased a Taurus PT145 pro as a new carry piece and am a bit torn when it comes to ammo. being a light weight compact gun I expect a bit more recoil out of it then my 1911. Since shot placement is king and I belive that anything worth shooting once is worth shooting three times my prime concern when it comes to ammo is the accuracy of follow up shots.

From what I have heard 180g has less recoil then 230g. Seeing as this is a compact pistol less recoil sounds great in practice but what am I giving up in terms of performance going with the lighter bullet?
    -It is a seriously scary thought that there are subsets of American society that think being intellectual is a BAD thing...

Congratulations on the new gun.

I don't think I would go any smaller than 200 gr bullets.
    Don't believe what you hear and only half of what you see!
    -Tony Soprano

I'm a 230g fan. I target 185g just because of the cost difference
    Freedom itself was attacked this morning by a faceless coward, and freedom will be defended

Just make sure the 185s are good performers e.g. DPX.... Link below.

Cor-Bon DPX .45 ACP

Available here.

Ammunition To Go : 20rds - 45 ACP Corbon DPX 185gr. +P HP Ammo [DPX45185/20] - $32.49
    “Owning a handgun doesn’t make you armed any more than owning a guitar makes you a musician.” Jeff Cooper

http://carniakcustom.com/