Defensive Carry banner

Review: Surgical Speed Shooting by Andy Stanford

4K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  Dean407 
#1 ·
# Paperback: 152 pages
# Publisher: Paladin Press; Illustrate edition (July 2001)
# Language: English
# ISBN-10: 1581601433
# ISBN-13: 978-1581601435

Full Title:

"Surgical Speed Shooting: How To Achieve High-Speed Marksmanship In A Gunfight"

Amazon Link:

http://www.amazon.com/Surgical-Speed-Shooting-High-Speed-Marksmanship/dp/1581601433/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-4091540-6501735?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1188016263&sr=8-1

Andy's school:
http://www.optionsforpersonalsecurity.com/

Review:

It's important to understand I am a newbie to firearms and therefore I'm enthusiastic to soak up info like a sponge.

This is a very good easy to read in one sitting book! 4 out of 5 stars.

I think this is especially good to get if you ARE a relative newbie to concealed carry.

Andy Stanford seems to have solid experience and therefore, he has solid opinions. The first part of the book is putting a case in for the modern isosceles stance being superior to the Weaver stance due to body mechanics.

From there, the book puts forth Andy's idea of solid basics such as, Grip, Stance, Aiming, Trigger Control, Follow-Through, One Handed Shooting, Shooting While Moving, Loading and Unloading, Reloading and clearing malfunctions, Defensive Draw Stroke, and finally...Tactical Ready Positions.

I picked up a LOT of useful information! I mean...LOADS and GOBS of stuff I can start to use right away

Stuff I came away with...

Today I went to the range and fired my two guns- Beretta PX4 and HK P2000SK. Frustrated by my pathetic Double Actions shots (both guns are DA/SA) I started to do something that now I know is a good thing to do- staging the trigger.