Mike Sastre’s Kitchen Kydex Review

This is a discussion on Mike Sastre’s Kitchen Kydex Review within the Defensive Books, Video & References forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Recently I was given a copy of Mike Sastre’s “Kitchen Kydex” DVD set to watch and write a review on. I have been doing my ...

Thread: Mike Sastre’s Kitchen Kydex Review

Mike Sastre’s Kitchen Kydex Review

Recently I was given a copy of Mike Sastre’s “Kitchen Kydex” DVD set to watch and write a review on. I have been doing my own Kydex for some time now, and was mostly self-taught, but was able to glean some good information off the Internet and various forums. Over a period, I was able to start making my own stuff, but I spent a lot of time and money working my way through the trial and error process. There is a Kydex graveyard littered with the corpses of failed attempts at sheaths and holsters that did not need to be, but such is the process of trial and error.

Like many other people out there, I got into making things out of Kydex because I needed more custom stuff than I was able to find on the Internet, plus I was also looking to save a little dough in the process. What I found is that I really enjoyed making Kydex gear, got pretty good at it, and started selling the stuff I was making in my basement workshop. So for me, what started as a distraction became a hobby which morphed into a small business. But no matter why you get into the Kydex game or what you plan to get out of it, knowing what you are doing is key.