Trigger Job Liability

Trigger Job Liability

This is a discussion on Trigger Job Liability within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I just fired a M&P 40 with the new Apex sear and the trigger is so much better than my stock trigger. I would love ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Trigger Job Liability

Trigger Job Liability

I just fired a M&P 40 with the new Apex sear and the trigger is so much better than my stock trigger. I would love to do the same to mine but I have heard horror stories about DA's and civil lawyers going after guys because they have " made the gun more deadly"

I know we have some very knowledgeable guys and gals here and I wanted to check the consensus. If I have any trigger work done, and God forbid I ever do have to use it in self defense what liability have I caused myself?

Distinguished Member Array Tally XD's Avatar
    I am not a lawyer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night . . . .

As long as the gun is not rendered unsafe and passes all safety and performance functions, there should be no room for any liability.

Attorneys will pursue any avenue for a win regardless of whether it is factual or not. If you were to use your gun in a situation that had a high probability of you being charged with anything, other than justifiable homicide, then there might be a possibility of jury having issues with a "trigger job". In a defense shooting where you are likely too be, or would be found, not guilty or never charged they would likely not even know it had been modified.

Still, even without a "trigger modification" there would be other reasons, plausible or not, that the prosecution would try to hang on you just to win their case.

Get a professional job done, use quality factory made ammo for defensive carry and follow all rules of proper self defenseive measures according to your local laws.