Considering a New Carry Gun

This is a discussion on Considering a New Carry Gun within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I thought I would seek out the sage advice usually found on this forum and hear what the wise council says about sub-compact carry guns. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Considering a New Carry Gun

I thought I would seek out the sage advice usually found on this forum and hear what the wise council says about sub-compact carry guns. I currently carry a Stoeger Cougar, but I can't determine what my issue is as of now with it. I am fairly new to conceiled carry, so I am not sure if I am just getting used to carrying, or if what I'm carrying is too much for my frame (5'9'' ~170 lbs). After a full day of CC, my back is mildly sore and I am more tired than usual. Would it be beneficial to look into a smaller framed pistol, or just keep on truckin' and walk it off with the Stoeger? Also, does anyone have any feedback on the Springfield Armory sub-compact 9mm? Thanks all.
    "Eternal Vigilance is the Price of Liberty"
    -Wendell Phillips

Men trained in arms from their infancy, and animated by the love of liberty, will afford neither a cheap nor easy conquest.
    -The Declaration of the Continental Congress, July 1775

Distinguished Member Array MinistrMalic's Avatar
    I have a XD9sc that was my EDC until recently (I bought a Kimber Pro CDP 2 that is now primary...XD is carried occasionally). I love it; great gun, very concealable, goes bang every time I pull the trigger.

I don't think that you'll have much difference between the Stoeger and the XD; they are about the same size and weight. I might try a new holster or carry position before changing weapon platform, especially if you've practiced a lot with it. Move something else around, try a new holster or change carry positions first.
    "...whoever has no sword is to sell his coat and buy one." (Luke 22:36)