need some help and advice!

This is a discussion on need some help and advice! within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to the pistol scene, and just took my CCW class last weekend. i am currently looking for a pistol to carry.... what ...

Thread: need some help and advice!

I am new to the pistol scene, and just took my CCW class last weekend. i am currently looking for a pistol to carry.... what i thought i wanted i might not be what i need.
    i was looking for something in .40 s&s like the XDM but after looking i do not think it would be a good carry choice. so now i am looking at pocket guns like the ruger LCP and Kel tec p385 or taurus tcp.
    this is getting confusing to me.

maybe i should stick with a 9mm and

re

does it have to be an auto??
    "Gun control is like trying to reduce drunk driving by making it tougher for sober people to own cars."

With the right holster, belt, and carry method, you can conceal more than one might think.

You can probably carry anything as long as you have the right holster and belt to go with it. That being said, smaller might be easier to carry but if this is being your first pistol then you might want to get something bigger than an LCP that you would be comfortable using at the range.

Go to your local shop and handle some of the sub compact guns like a Glock 26 and M&Pc. Then compare to a full size gun. See the differences. Also feel the difference in grip length. You want to be able to comfortably practice with whatever you carry. Rent a few guns if you can and find what you like.

If you are lucky someone might be in your area and would allow you to try a couple of their guns and you'd get a feel for different ones. Otherwise Rent.

Choosing your first gun and making that gun your carry is a very difficult task. If you don't need an auto and would consider a revolver that opens up a lot of new options.