New to guns and gun forum! I need help getting a gun!

This is a discussion on New to guns and gun forum! I need help getting a gun! within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I just got my gun permit. I just joined this forum in hopes of getting recommendations on guns. I went into the store and every ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: New to guns and gun forum! I need help getting a gun!

New to guns and gun forum! I need help getting a gun!

I just got my gun permit. I just joined this forum in hopes of getting recommendations on guns. I went into the store and every guy in there tried to push on me the guns they carry. I am a small female ( 5"2" 109lbs) and would prefer one to carry and one to keep in my home somewhere. I live alone and after a bad incident I don't want to leave myself unprotected or helpless ever again. I work in a hospital so a lot of times I have to walk through a parking lot in the dark at night or go into my house at odd hours. I need something light enough to carry but something that I can work easily and effortlessly. Any suggestions???

2. Remove Ads

Welcome!!! Lots of good folks here that can assist you in options to consider. Are you looking for a revolver or a semi-auto? Or are you undecided on that aspect?
    Know Guns, Know Safety, Know Peace.
    No Guns, No Safety, No Peace.

Guns are like sex and air...its no big deal until YOU can't get any.

Welcome aboard. Go to a local range and rent some guns... start out with a 9mm and see how it goes..a glock, XD or M&P is going to be the easiest to operate. A good 38 special revolver would be a good choice..Taurus 85UL, S&W 642 or a Ruger LCR. Take a look at the pocket sized 380s...Ruger LCP, Keltecs or a Sig P238 or P232, Bersa makes some great 380s. There are alot of choices out there. But you have to find something you are comfortable with. What feels good in your hands and you can manipulate. I hope this helps. Robbie