Is a .38 a good CCW gun?

This is a discussion on Is a .38 a good CCW gun? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I bought a Smith & Wesson .38 Special, +P 5 shot air weight revolver with a 2 inch barrel. It occurred to me today that ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Is a .38 a good CCW gun?

Is a .38 a good CCW gun?

I bought a Smith & Wesson .38 Special, +P 5 shot air weight revolver with a 2 inch barrel.
    It occurred to me today that its a bit odd for a self defense gun.
    I am very new to guns and do not know much about them but from what I understand its the diameter that matters with self defense right?
    But the .38 Special is not exactly a large diameter; just a lot of powder.
    Also isn't this much powder more for accuracy in a longer distance but the SD pistol is used up close?
    Third point: Doesn't this amount of powder pull you off your target with the recoil making it even worse for self defense?
    Last edited by jimtem; April 30th, 2010 at 10:36 AM. Reason: for clarity

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array razor02097's Avatar
    I bought a .38 air weight S & W 5 shoot revolver with a 2 inch barrel.
    Congratulations are we talking about a .38 S&W or a .38 special because they are very very different.

It occurred to me today that its a bit odd for a defense gun.
    I don't think it is odd, what do you find odd about it?

I am very new to guns and do not know much about them but from what I understand its the diameter that matters with self defense right?
    not necessarily. It depends more on the energy delivered and the design of the bullet.

But the .38 is not exactly a large diameter; just a lot of powder. Also isn't this much powder more for accuracy in a longer distance but the SD pistol is used up close?