Need help deciding on most suitable carry 9.

This is a discussion on Need help deciding on most suitable carry 9. within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey all, looking for the gurus' collective help & opinions. First of all I'm a complete noob to the gun world, so my judgement may ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Need help deciding on most suitable carry 9.

Hey all, looking for the gurus' collective help & opinions. First of all I'm a complete noob to the gun world, so my judgement may be limited to make a decision, so your help is greatly appreciated. To start, I'm a really small guy, 5'4" & 130lbs., so I've limited my choices to subcompacts only and the four that I really like are the: Glock 26, M&P 9c, XD9sc and the Walther P99c. I recently went and rented the first 3 and here's how I feel:
    Glock 26-Most uncomfortable grip of the 3, even using a G19 clip. Grip easily improved & capacity increased with Pearce Grip stuff. Kicks a bit harder than the other two. Unquestionable reliability, parts and accessories availability. Stellar reputation.
    S&W M&P 9c-Most comfortable grip of the three, 12 rd. mag compared to G26's 10rds., Very soft & smooth recoil, good parts/accessories support. My only reservation is the occasional jam I hear/read about. Does anyone know what the 9c's reliability is nowadays? I NEED ultimate reliability (who doesn't?), there are some vicious characters in my city.
    Springfield XD 9sc-Good grip behind the M&P, similar soft recoil, good parts/acc. avail., seems to have a good reliability reputation (anyone had a failure/jam with this gun?), a little blockier than the other two.
    Walther P99c-I didn't shoot this gun, but from what I've read, it seems to be quite reliable, but not 100%, a nice shooter, but only a 10 rd. mag, but full size 15 rd mag can be used which extends the grip by quite a bit which kills the CC purpose. Spotty parts/acc. availability.