New shooter seeking advice for CC weapon selection

This is a discussion on New shooter seeking advice for CC weapon selection within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi everybody. I am new to all this and looking to head to the range to try some pistols that I may consider for CC. ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New shooter seeking advice for CC weapon selection

Hi everybody. I am new to all this and looking to head to the range to try some pistols that I may consider for CC. I don't really know where to start. I'm a 5'1" 100lb girl and I'm not very strong. I want to go to the range to gain some confidence in my shooting but I was looking for advice as to what guns could work for me. Being a person of such a small frame, I don't know if there are many guns with decent stopping power that are small enough for me to conceal. Does anyone have any suggestions? I just don't want to spend money trying out guns that I can't conceal on my person. My other concern is recoil. Though I know my confidence and ability will grow with practice at the range, I know I won't be comfortable with a gun that has a harsh recoil. Is there a happy medium? Thanks so much!

-Devynn

2. Remove Ads

Welcome, ma'am. There's a lot to think about. Here's a link to a site created by a lady who has thought about these things a lot. It's a good start.

Cornered Cat
    Under the sword lifted high, there is Hell, making you tremble. But go ahead, and you have the land of Bliss.

~ Miyamoto Musashi

First off, welcome.

What I'd highly recommend is finding a range near you that rents firearms, and provides instruction. That way, you can try several different pistols, get properly trained in using them, and choose one that works well for you.