Da vs dao

This is a discussion on Da vs dao within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new at this and I do not know if this the correct way to go about asking a question. I have noted that ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Da vs dao

Da vs dao

I am new at this and I do not know if this the correct way to go about asking a question. I have noted that some semi automatic handguns have a visible hammer and some do not. I have been looking for a small, easily concealed semi automatic and I would like to know some pros and cons about this feature. I assume that this relates directly to Double Action and Double Action Only features. Any insight into this subject would be appreciated.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array kazzaerexys's Avatar
    Welcome to the forum!

Size, hammer, and action aren't necessarily related.

Someone else can correct me if I am wrong, but I don't know of any autoloaders that have shrouded or otherwise non-exposed hammers. When you look at an auto that doesn't have a hammer, you are generally looking at a striker fired gun. Basically, a striker is kind of like the hammer and firing pin all in one---the trigger pulls the striker against a spring, then releases it forward to hit the primer. No separate hammer involved.

Striker fired guns will basically have the same trigger pull every time. A hammer fired gun may be double-action only (DAO) and have the same pull every time; it might be DA for the first shot and SA for follow-up shots; it might even be cocked-and-locked single action only (SAO).

Glocks are striker-fired, and may be small pocket-sized guns or full sized. A SIG P239 is a compact gun with a hammer that can be either DA/SA or DAO (actually, a SIG-specific type of DAO called DAK). The SIG P238 is a pocket-sized, hammer-fired SAO gun.