Cocked and Locked - Q re Colt Defender carry style....

This is a discussion on Cocked and Locked - Q re Colt Defender carry style.... within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a newbie to this. I've gripped about 20 small pistols in the past couple weeks. The one that seemed to leap into my palm ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cocked and Locked - Q re Colt Defender carry style....

I'm a newbie to this.

I've gripped about 20 small pistols in the past couple weeks. The one that seemed to leap into my palm and happily stick there was a Colt Defender. It just fit so well. My hands and 'instinctive' grip are such that almost all other autos end up placing the slide release button under my right thumb...leading to the slide slamming shut after last round rather than staying open....an annoyance on the range. i've been trying to alter my grip with some luck, but now, after having a Sig (great shooter) for a few months, I'm drawn to this Defender as a CCW because it (and all the other Colt 1911s I tried same day) fit my hand and the slide release button was perfectly between (but not under) my two thumbs, both running along the left side of the frame as they do in my hard-to-change grip style.

Cocked and Locked is how the salesman said you optimally carry this. This is a bit of a culture change for me...Intellectually I see that the thumb safety, the grip safety, and the trigger are all safety features. I'm just used to my Sig.....with a decocker, etc.

To users of this...is this how you carry this gun? Cocked and locked such? Is it safe in an unconventional holtser, such as common IWB holsters?

Just looking for some reassurance on this....i'm not used to SA only pistols that you carry around with the hammer back....

DR

It's really no different or less safe than carrying a pistol with an internal striker (Glock, XD, etc... most polymers) with a round in the chamber.