Question on Browning pistol's.

This is a discussion on Question on Browning pistol's. within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm thinking of purchasing a Browning Hi Power. I'm new to Brownings and from what I can ascertain somewhere along the line they switched from ...

Thread: Question on Browning pistol's.

VIP Member Array automatic slim's Avatar

I'm thinking of purchasing a Browning Hi Power. I'm new to Brownings and from what I can ascertain somewhere along the line they switched from a nice blued finish to some kind of cheap paint.
    I also know that the newer models, the Mk.III I think, has plastic grips instead of wood.
    I prefer the blue finish and have seen photos of one manufactured in 1994 that I'm considering. It however has plastic grips. Would this particular gun be blued or painted, I really can't tell from the photos? Thanks in advance!
    "First gallant South Carolina nobly made the stand."
    Edge of Darkness

If it has the plastic grips I believe it will be the "painted" finish and not the blue unless the grips were changed for some reason.

Little info her, and a dose of opinion:

Many find the plastic grips to be more suitable and ergonomic over the wooden ones. Also, the "painted" finish is an epoxy, IIRC, that wears better than blue.

It's hard to go wrong with an epoxy P-35 as a carry gun.

Biker

Mr. Stephen Camp posts here and has a website with a huge amount of info on the BHP:

Hi Powers and Handguns

Distinguished Member Array pirate's Avatar
    FYI....FN makes the Browning Hi Power. Browning has never manufactured a Hi Power. Browning is the US importer. Great handgun. Maybe the best ergonomics of any semiauto handgun ever produced.
    When I leave the home port:
    S&W 642 Airweight, Ruger SP 101, Colt Detective Spec., CZ RAMI, Kahr PM9, Kahr CW40, S&W Model 10-7, Glock 30, 19, and 26, Browning Hi Power, CZ82, Colt Commander, Dan Wesson PM7, Ruger LCP