My 1st malfunctions, ever, in 20+ years

This is a discussion on My 1st malfunctions, ever, in 20+ years within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been shooting for over 20 years and I've never had a gun to malfunction until this past Thursday. Granted, I was a died-in-the-wool revolver ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My 1st malfunctions, ever, in 20+ years

I've been shooting for over 20 years and I've never had a gun to malfunction until this past Thursday. Granted, I was a died-in-the-wool revolver guy until a couple of years ago, but I've done a ton of shooting with my 6 semi's over the last couple of years.

The first malfunction was with a REVOLVER!?!?!? Sure enough, my trusty Ruger Police Service Six .357 Magnum. The cylinder locked up and wouldn't budge. I was about 7 cylinders into a box of 50 Remington 158 gr JSPs and on the 3rd pull of the trigger, it locked up. I opened it up, looked at it, messed with it and tried again, and still no go. I went to the table and unloaded and when I dropped the rounds a small circle of brass (looked like the thin trimmings from machining) dropped too. It was binding up the revolver. It was very small and thin, like a brass thread, but that was all it took. It was fine after that, so I chalk it up to an ammo issue. This was my first time shooting Remington .357 range ammo...I need to be extra cautious in inspecting ammo upon loading. When a revolver binds up, it's not a quick fix.

The second malfunction was a nose-dive in my Springfield XD40sc. Easily and quickly cleared, but it just goes to show it happens and you need to be prepared. I can't tell why it happened. I'm not prone to limp wristing (and I have some small semis that are very sinsitive to it), but you never know.

I just thought it was interesting that I had never had a malfunction in two decades and I had two in the same range trip with each type of handgun.
    Know Guns, Know Safety, Know Peace.