Taurus 1911,whats your experience with these?

This is a discussion on Taurus 1911,whats your experience with these? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I checked one of these out today and really thought it was nice for its price point. It was their stainless steel model with the ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Taurus 1911,whats your experience with these?

I checked one of these out today and really thought it was nice for its price point. It was their stainless steel model with the light rail it was new and $570 OTD,I'm strongly considering it but would like info from those who own one. whats been your experience with this 1911? And are these guns frames and slides forged? Thanks for any help on this guys.
    Snub nose revolvers,the original concealed carry guns.

Distinguished Member Array SpringerXD's Avatar
    I have no experience whatsoever with that model, but I do know this: if it has problems and has to go back to Taurus, you're looking at about a 2-3 month turnaround.

I know because I just bought a TCP that had a broken trigger mechanism right out of the box.
    "I practice the ancient art of Klik Pao."

-miklcolt45

VIP Member
    I have a Taurus 1911 that shoots just fine, but as SpringerXD said customer service leaves much to be desired. The ambi-saftey came apart on mine, sent it back to Taurus and it was 2 months before I got it back.
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."

It's not forged and the small parts can be questionable. If you're handy with a 1911, you could just replace anything that breaks yourself or have a smith fit any part you want. Personally they're a bit too hit or miss for me.
    No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms.
    -Thomas Jefferson

Laws are restrictive but sometimes necessary to maintain a civil society. Rights are nonrestrictive but are always necessary to maintain a free society.