150 rounds into the break-in and

This is a discussion on 150 rounds into the break-in and within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Whoowhoo, Perfect! I wont even try to go into all the trigger and action involved as I'm totally new to the platform and have nothing ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 150 rounds into the break-in and

Whoowhoo, Perfect!

I wont even try to go into all the trigger and action involved as I'm totally new to the platform and have nothing to compare it to, but I do know that outa 150 rounds I had one malfunction and I'm 99.99% sure it was operator error and not the pistol. The slide stop locked back middle of the 8 round mag I had and it still had four rounds left in the mag. I didn't feel my thumb hit it, but when it locked back I looked at my grip and sure enough my big sausage was sticking up giving the thumbs high signal.

I was hoping for a 100% run and ended up with the one, but again I'm sure I somehow hit the thing with my thumb cause it never happened again. Like I said earlier, I'm new to the 1911 platform and can't really speak intelligently about all the intricacies of the weapon, but I can shoot and man this thing is as accurate as any pistol I've ever shot or owned. The trigger was awesome and I'm sure the match grade barrel helped my aim tremendously. I did some research over the weekend and did find a lot of hit or miss posting regarding the Kimber short barreled pistols being ammo finicky, but I plan on just running FMJ's as both range and carry and so far I'm confident it'll spit the FMJ's out as fast as I can pull the trigger. As a side note, I know some are gonna scoff at the thought of using FMJs as a defense load but IMO, a round that measures .45 and traveling at around 900 FPS will do the job period.