Of the three which one would you get and why?

This is a discussion on Of the three which one would you get and why? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Contemplating a new purchase once I sell my Sig P239 9mm. My choices are: SA XD Subcompact 3"; Taurus PT 709; or Walther PPS Just ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Of the three which one would you get and why?

Of the three which one would you get and why?

Contemplating a new purchase once I sell my Sig P239 9mm.

My choices are:

SA XD Subcompact 3"; Taurus PT 709; or Walther PPS

Just not sure which is the better gun.

Thanks

2. Remove Ads

Of the three pistols y ou mention in your post I highly favor the Springfield Armory I have the subcompact 9mm
    and really favor it as a CCW.

I have real reservations about the reliability of Taurus products and have extensive experience with Taurus customer service - all not so good.

I have no experience with Walther and have no comment at all.
    GOOD SHOOTING
    ALWAYS PROTECT YOUR VISION AND HEARING
    De gustibus non est disputandem

VIP Member
    The P239 is the better gun, First Sergeant, but that's not what you're asking.

I have been impressed by the PPS for its efficiency (size/weight/firepower ratio) and it has generally quite good reviews. The XD is considerably "blockier," but also gets high marks for reliability and function. Taurus' have been taking a beating around here lately, but many people have been very happy with theirs...

I guess my question is this: if you already have one of the very best single stack, "sub" compact 9mms available, why are you looking to "downgrade?"
    A man fires a rifle for many years, and he goes to war. And afterward he turns the rifle in at the armory, and he believes he's finished with the rifle. But no matter what else he might do with his hands - love a woman, build a house, change his son's diaper - his hands remember the rifle.

VIP Member