First Gun- New Member

First Gun- New Member

This is a discussion on First Gun- New Member within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First of all I'd like to say hi to everyone. I've been visiting this site and finally decided to become a member. I just recently ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First Gun- New Member

First Gun- New Member

First of all I'd like to say hi to everyone. I've been visiting this site and finally decided to become a member. I just recently turned 21 and I am looking into purchasing my first handgun. Being a student my budget it tight. I'd love to have a range gun and a carry gun but for now just one is going to have to do.
    That being said I've narrowed it down to a couple and would like everyone opinion.

1) Sig P239
    2) Glock 19
    3) CZ P01
    4) Either a full size USP or Sig P229

I've also looked into 1911's. I have fired them and find them great, but I have yet to really feel confident with there reliability, that being said I have looked at the Kimber Ultra Carry and similar 4" Springfields.

Any advice and or other suggestions would be great.
    Thanks guys.

los
    Greetings, MTS and WELCOME to The Forum.

The G19 would get my vote. What type carry method do you intend to use.?
    What we've got here is failure to communicate.

Senior Moderator
    The best thing you can do before you make a decision is to shoot each gun.

All of the Internet surfing about various handguns is great, but nothing will take the place of the actual feel of the gun in your hand and how it shoots.

Every person here on this site has an opinion, but every person on this site has different sized hands, different tolerance levels of recoil, and what works for them may not work for you.

Don not make the mistake of spending lots of money on a handgun ONLY to find out after shooting it a few times that you are less than happy with it.

With that being said...