Family Firearms transfer between 2 states

This is a discussion on Family Firearms transfer between 2 states within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am an Oregon resident, but fly back to texas a few times a year to see family. I always check my G26 w/ American ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Family Firearms transfer between 2 states

Family Firearms transfer between 2 states

I am an Oregon resident, but fly back to texas a few times a year to see family.
    I always check my G26 w/ American airlines/TSA with no issues.

I'm in Texas right now and my mother recently gave me her 15 year old S&W 4013 duty pistol.

I was curious what I needed to do as far as paper work or any thing else, mind you there is no gun registration in Oregon.

So I sent a quick email to Oregon Firearms Federarion asking if it was OK for me to just bring it back in my checked baggage.

They replied with this:
    ---------
    This will be a felonious interstate transfer. It MUST be done through a dealer.

Kevin

BTW This would be a federal felony, Oregon has nothing to do with it.

---------

Is this right? Do I need to go through the the FFL dealer shipping?

2. Remove Ads

Senior Moderator
    I agree - it is a federal issue. You will have to take the gun to an FFL and have him ship it to an FFL in Oregon; then he will run a background check and charge a transfer fee; the FFL in Texas will probably charge a transfer fee too.

An alternative would be that your mother could bring the gun to Oregon on a visit and the two of you could go to a local FFL and have it transfered to you.

I think that's about it.
    I'm too young to be this old!
    Getting old isn't good for you!

Unless Oregon dealers are required by Oregon law to receive firearms only from FFL's, then there's no need for an FFL on the sender's end. It could just be shipped by your mom directly to the Oregon dealer of your choice.