Defensive Carry banner

Considering going from G19 to G20

12K views 22 replies 21 participants last post by  ctsketch 
#1 ·
I carry a Glock 19 full time. I'm thinking of changing to the 20 full time. It's bigger and heavier, but in a conflict, the G20's firepower has an overwhelming advantage over almost any sidearm, and it seems a prudent move. I've been shooting to G20 for many years, and it already gets carried in the winter OWB.
Opinions?

#4 ·
Well since you already own them both you might as well just carry the more firepower of the G20

#6 ·
Definitely give the 20 a year round whirl.

I'm sure that you'll be able to pull it off without any discomfort :yup:

#12 ·
If you can pull it off, go for it, but only if you can shoot it as effectively as your G19.

What are ya waiting for? It's a fun little beast! :wink:

#11 ·
If you can carry it, go for it. I would definitely keep the 19, though. Everyone should have a 19 in the line up. I have a 2nd generation and wish that I had the cash for a 3rd generation. But the 20 is a powerhouse. Uncle Ted carries a 20 as his EDC.

#19 ·
This is a fact. When you compare the round count, they both hold 15 rounds +1 in the pipe. But the power factor of the 10mm totally outclasses the 9mm. Lets do the math ; 15 rnds 10mm x 750 fpe =11,250 foot pounds of energy in 1 handgun. As far as controlability, the g20 is as easy for me to shoot rapid fire accuratley as the g19. You have to be pretty weak not to be able to handle the 10mm in the g20. It is hard to believe that anyone who believes otherwise has even fired the 10mm in the g20. As HOTGUNS stated, it is the best. It puts the 45 in the ballistic grave, and nips at the heels of the lower end 41 mag loads.

#14 ·
Can you make repeated, accurate hits with your 10mm as you can with your 9mm? Can you afford to practice with the 10mm as much as you can with your 9mm?