1911 newbie question

This is a discussion on 1911 newbie question within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So I'm new to the 1911 world and still looking to buy my first one. Could someone please explain the advantages of having a full ...

Thread: 1911 newbie question

1911 newbie question

So I'm new to the 1911 world and still looking to buy my first one. Could someone please explain the advantages of having a full length guide rod?

I realize this is probably a dumb question but I can't seem to figure it out myself.

Thanks

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    While most manufacturers offer models with full-length guide rods I personally see no need for them. Except for my 3-inch Micro Compact all of mine have just the recoil spring and plug and do not need any special tools to field strip.
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."

Senior Moderator
    There was some argument that a full length guide rod improved accuracy but there's been no real documented proof that it actually does. Even if it did we are talking about millimeters worth at distances a defensive shooter will probably never have to worry about.

Personally, I hate full length guide rods and replace them with standard springs and plugs as soon as possible.

Some like them. They think they add security or whatever and if it seems to help, even if it's a mental thing, then it helps.. All the power to ya!

But if you don't like it then it's a pretty easy fix to go to a standard spring and rod and all that jazz.

JD
    Administrator
    They say it eliminates spring bind and improves accuracy...I've never seen them improve anything. Nor have I had a spring bind with a plug and guide. Sometimes you don't have choice, the gun comes that way from the store, I just ditch the full length guide rod (FLGR) and drop in a plug and guide, it's that easy and costs about $10.00.