Defensive Carry banner

CZ75 PCR Range Report

6K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  G-man* 
#1 ·
Well, since I bought my CZ75 PCR a couple weeks ago I've gone shooting with it twice and put a total of 378 rounds through her. I thought I'd share my general impressions and experience with it. Bear in mind that this is my first handgun, and I am a total novice to shooting in general.

1. First outing- I fired a 100 rounds of Winchester Whitebox, and 28 rounds of my friend's reloads at his backyard range. Zero malfunctions of any kind, and the weapon already proved itself to be much more accurate than me! The slide release, which was initially VERY stiff, has eased up nicely with repeated racking. Also, the trigger, which was also fairly gritty on the intitial DA pull, is begining to smooth out as well. The balance and pointability of the weapon is generally excellent. The compact's shorter grip length actually fits my hand perfectly since mine aren't very large. Trigger reach is also excellent.

2. Second Outing- Visited "On Target" indoor range in Murfreesboro, TN with some friends. That place is fantastic with a very friendly staff. Fired 200 rounds of Winchester Whitebox, then 50 rounds of some other cheapo brand. PCR eats all the Whitebox without a hitch, and I'm getting a better feel for how it runs. When I run out and buy this other cheapo brand, think it was 'Atlanta-something' in a blue box, I get my first problems. I get a couple 'failure to go into battery' jams with it when I try to chamber a round. This ammo also leaves little unburnt powder granules everywhere inside the weapon and magazine, and a hard powder deposit on the feed ramp that took a little while to scrub off. Won't be trying any of that stuff again. Despite that, overall I'm totally thrilled with this pistol!