Strange problem with my GP100

This is a discussion on Strange problem with my GP100 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I bought a used 4" GP100 in SS earlier this year...February?? It has become my favorite revolver, besting my many Smiths in smoothness of action ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Strange problem with my GP100

Strange problem with my GP100

I bought a used 4" GP100 in SS earlier this year...February?? It has become my favorite revolver, besting my many Smiths in smoothness of action and believe it or not, trigger too. It has been PERFECT up until the other day. While test firing some hand loads (all on the mild 38 spl side as I am brand new to hand loading), I had three to five instances that when I pulled the trigger, the cylinder turned, but the hammer didn't pull back or it did just a little. Of course, the gun did not fire. I ended up getting it to fire by tipping the gun upward and then lowering it to the level position. This was after 2-3 times of failure. Then it did it again a couple of times and was "fixed" by tipping it up again. It has not done it again since and I have been trying to make it fail while dry firing it several hundred times.
    What do you think? I'll probably take it in, but wanted to get some of your ideas.
    The man's nuts....grab 'em!
    A pistol free zone is a crime spree zone!
    NRA Life Member

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    From the way you describe the failure the only thing I can think of would be something blocking the transfer bar from traveling upward. By tipping the revolver up it may allow the transfer bar to slip back slightly and clear the obstruction. I would carefully check the transfer bar and the track it runs in for any obstructions or possible burs, if found they may be smoothed down with an emery board or a small piece of sandpaper.
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."