Gun show score!! (wifes, for now...) SP-101

This is a discussion on Gun show score!! (wifes, for now...) SP-101 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am relatively new to hand gunning (bought my FM Hi-Power a few months ago, but I read and researched for going on 2-3 years). ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gun show score!! (wifes, for now...) SP-101

Gun show score!! (wifes, for now...) SP-101

I am relatively new to hand gunning (bought my FM Hi-Power a few months ago, but I read and researched for going on 2-3 years). I REALLY wanted an SP-101 as my first handgun, but I could never find one for less than ~$500 locally.

Interestingly enough, I rented one a while back and my wife (who enjoys shooting my Hi-Power) LOVED the wheel gun. She has been considering taking a ccw class with me. She understands gun safety very well and immediately decided that her firearm should have no manual safety. When I showed her a few guns with safety's she looked and me confused and said, "Why would they do that? Why would you ever put your finger on the trigger if you didnt want to shoot someone? That seems silly. My brain probably works better than some little lever". :D Its funny how she usually GETS IT before I do. (I was somewhat nervous about leaving the BHP cocked and locked for a while).

We went to the show on Saturday and she handled a few LCRs (I went there looking for a Kahr CW9) before seeing 2 used .357 mag SP-101s in a case. One had a 3" barrel with a hammer and the other 2 (1/8)" which was bobbed. She held each and dry fired them and, much to my surprise, she preferred the DAO version. Again she surprised me by saying "If I had to shoot someone, I wouldnt want to pull the hammer back anyway, plus it could snag on something. I should just practice with this one" :) Haha she even made the gun salesman proud.