Sp101 - 3 inch barrel VS 2 inch

This is a discussion on Sp101 - 3 inch barrel VS 2 inch within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've decided that my next purchase is more then likely going to be a Ruger SP101. I have VERY little experience when it comes to ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sp101 - 3 inch barrel VS 2 inch

Sp101 - 3 inch barrel VS 2 inch

I've decided that my next purchase is more then likely going to be a Ruger SP101. I have VERY little experience when it comes to wheel guns. This wouldn't be a pocket carry gun so it seems like the extra inch on the barrel would be the way to go simply from a ballistic stand point but due to my lack of experience with the platform I'm not sure. Is there a advantage to the 2 inch barrel over the 3 inch barrel on a .357 that isn't going to be pocket carried? I have heard people say that the .357 out of a 2 inch barrel is basically the same as .38spl +p
    -It is a seriously scary thought that there are subsets of American society that think being intellectual is a BAD thing...

2. Remove Ads

Senior Member Array GoBigOrange's Avatar
    I've heard people say that as well about barrel length. They might be right but I always like to see evidence to back it up. If it were me personally, I would get the 2".

The SP101 is next on my list of guns to buy.