Springfield Armorary EMP9 or Kahr PM9

This is a discussion on Springfield Armorary EMP9 or Kahr PM9 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I know that there are pros and cons to each gun. I like the idea of no external safeties on the Kahr, but I like ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Springfield Armorary EMP9 or Kahr PM9

Springfield Armorary EMP9 or Kahr PM9

I know that there are pros and cons to each gun. I like the idea of no external safeties on the Kahr, but I like the SA of the EMP. I've been carrying for 30 years on a daily basis and have never been in such a quandry as to what the next gun purchase is going to be. Please let me know what you think. Thanks

2. Remove Ads

Well, I own two Kahrs (K40, CW9) and three 1911s (a Kimber and 2 Springers), so I'm kinda conflicted.

Compared to the PM9, the EMP is bigger by about an inch in height and overall length, and it weighs at least a half pound more, but it also carries 2-3 rounds more. It's also about 50% more expensive. The PM 9 could serve as a pocket pistol (at the large end of the range), but the EMP is pretty much constrained to holster carry due to its size and weight.

But I'm going with my gut... if price was no object, I'd deliberate about 12 seconds and then pick the EMP.

If you need a tie-breaker, I think the consensus here in DC is that Springfield has outstanding customer service, whereas there are a number of war stories posted about problems with Kahr's service.

Let us know what you finally decide, and why!
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member

If you have a chance, you should shoot them both and decide which one you like better. I don't think you could go wrong with either.

I was looking for a new small 9mm last year and I was also comparing the EMP and PM9. I don't own any 1911 style guns, but I do enjoy shooting them. In the end, I went with the PM9 simply due to it's smaller size and weight.