Let's Have a Caliber Fight

This is a discussion on Let's Have a Caliber Fight within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; No seriously, I want to hear all the good and the bad of the 380 all the way up to the 45ACP. I'm new to ...

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Let's Have a Caliber Fight

No seriously, I want to hear all the good and the bad of the 380 all the way up to the 45ACP.

I'm new to the board and see some replies to my other post about my secondary pistol and I keep reading things like "9mm is fine, cops use it, but I don't want to have a cliber fight." It seems things get ugly when it comes to talking caliber/

I'm very new to pistols and I want to have that argument. I went from thinking I wanted a 9mm and perhaps a 38 as a back up because I heard the same argument that NATO cops and the US forces use the 9mm.

THen I read an article "The Case for the 45 ACP" or something to that affect. Written by a cop who went into how even 45ACP is not enough power but it is the best choice. He went on to explain how one Miami cop could not take down a man after some 22 shots with a 9mm all Center Mass.

There are of course trade offs in everything and you can't have it all. 45 doesn't allow for concealability, mag cap AND ease of use.

Either you get a big honkin' 1911 steel frame which is a pleasure to shoot with it's but you give up comfort and probably will leave it at home.

You can get a lighter one, but you give up ease of use and hurt your hands.

You can have a high cap 9mm but don't have that security in knowing you have a better man stopper.

THe 40 cal is a nice medium, but again, you don't have the 45.

Yes, there is much to be said about shot placement, but under stress and while a guy is shooting back, shot placement becomes something of a roll of the dice, I don't care who you are.