XD-9 and Other Newbie Questions

This is a discussion on XD-9 and Other Newbie Questions within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi, I'm new to all of this recently passed carry test and going to submit carry permit. Can't decide on some things. The Springfield XD-9 ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: XD-9 and Other Newbie Questions

XD-9 and Other Newbie Questions

Hi,

I'm new to all of this recently passed carry test and going to submit carry permit. Can't decide on some things. The Springfield XD-9 vs Glock some say that the grip safety is a potential problem, that it has to be held just right but that the XD is a better gun than a Glock. Not looking to start a war over this topic just field some opinions.

Glock or XD, how the hell can you carry either gun concealed? they are pretty big. On top of that I really don't know if I will carry inside or outside the waistband. What are the differences and advantages?

Hope you understand that there is a huge learning curve for the complete newbie like myself and lots of options (too many.) Thanks

2. Remove Ads

Just hold a Glock and an XD and pick the one that feels right in your hand. That's my opinion. The grip safety has never been a problem for me.
    I carry an XD9 subcompact. I'm a tiny woman but it CAN be concealed ;)

I originally thought I would go IWB, but after trying it I have pretty much switched to OWB for every day carry. You'll accumulate a "box o holsters" so just try a few. A good holster and a good gun belt will make a big difference no matter how you decide to carry.
    I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I expect the same from them. -- John Wayne as John B. Books in "The Shootist"