Taurus 709 Slim

This is a discussion on Taurus 709 Slim within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; My friend is considering the Slim after dumping the Keltec and we were discussing this the other night. I have no knowledge of them at ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taurus 709 Slim

Taurus 709 Slim

My friend is considering the Slim after dumping the Keltec and we were discussing this the other night. I have no knowledge of them at all other than a few things I have read here and there about them.

Do any of you guys have them and what is your opinion about them as a CCW.

Thanks

2. Remove Ads

I've read a lot of mixed reviews. Some people own them and have had no issues, while others have had reliability issues. I handled one, but personally liked the Walther PPS over it and several other "slim" pistols. I also don't like the horror stories of the Taurus customer service. Do a search on the 709 on this site... Many threads on it. I guess I just feel that there are better pistols/companies out there in this particular niche. But, to each their own. Why did your friend dump the kel-tec? They seem to be well liked by those that have them.

Quote Originally Posted by RockStrongo View Post
    I've read a lot of mixed reviews. Some people own them and have had no issues, while others have had reliability issues. I handled one, but personally liked the Walther PPS over it and several other "slim" pistols. I also don't like the horror stories of the Taurus customer service. Do a search on the 709 on this site... Many threads on it. Why did your friend dump the kel-tec? They seem to be well liked by those that have them.
    Trigger guard was not large enough.

I have looked at the PPS for myself, I loved everything about the gun except it had what may be the worst or roughest trigger that I have ever felt. It may have just been the gun I handled, but that trigger was a piece of work.