Beginning the journey

Beginning the journey

This is a discussion on Beginning the journey within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am very very new to firearms. Last week, I purchased my first handgun a Taurus Judge 45-410 3" barrel which I plan to use ...

Thread: Beginning the journey

Beginning the journey

I am very very new to firearms. Last week, I purchased my first handgun a Taurus Judge 45-410 3" barrel which I plan to use for personal protection in our home. Since then, I've been reading threads on this forum as well as articles on the web, watching videos, and visiting manufactures web sites. I've spoked with individuals who have been shooting for years. Later this month, my local sheriff is sponsoring a class for beginners like me. My plan was to purchase a 22 and learn the basics. I thought that with a good 22 I could learn and shoot without breaking the bank on ammo. Then, I planned to purchase a 45, a 9, and a 380 that I could carry. Manufactures that I was considering Glock, Kahr, Ruger, and Springfield. Yesterday, I walked into a Cabela's so that I could handle a few different weapons.

We started with a Glock 36 and Kahr PM9. Honestly, I had my heart set on the Glock. However, after handeling the Glock and Kahr I felt the Kahr was right for me. Next, we moved to the 22. After trying several different models I tried a Sig Sauer Mosquito which ended my search.

I walked out with the Sig Mosquito and 1,000 rounds of ammo.

Now, I need to get to the local range and test phase one of my plan.

Other thoughts and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Mike
    Praise the Lord my Rock, who trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle --- Psalm 144

Ruger owners check our sister forum http://rugerpistolforums.com a great site to share and learn about your Ruger pistols.

Mike: