Purchase new vs used

This is a discussion on Purchase new vs used within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to firearms. One thing I've learned this can become expensive very quickly. I'm retired and a disabled vet. I would value thoughts from ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Purchase new vs used

Purchase new vs used

I'm new to firearms. One thing I've learned this can become expensive very quickly. I'm retired and a disabled vet.

I would value thoughts from anyone who purchased used vs new and if budget restrictions was the driving factor.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Mike
    Praise the Lord my Rock, who trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle --- Psalm 144

Ruger owners check our sister forum http://rugerpistolforums.com a great site to share and learn about your Ruger pistols.

2. Remove Ads

I'll buy used if its a really great deal but often the guns don't depreciate much and I can buy new for $50-100 more. One tip I can give you is wait until right before Christmas time, guys start dumping guns like crazy to come up with spare cash!

Buying used vs new is not a problem if the gun is in pretty good shape. That said, I would stay away for off/cheap brands to save money.
    bigdog44 likes this.
    The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.

Certified Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member[/B]

Quote Originally Posted by LoadedPipes View Post
    I'll buy used if its a really great deal but often the guns don't depreciate much and I can buy new for $50-100 more. One tip I can give you is wait until right before Christmas time, guys start dumping guns like crazy to come up with spare cash!
    Thats right. I buy new. Usually you can new for not a whole lot more $.
    Glock 22, 27 Gen 4
    Ruger SP101 .357mag
    S&W 637 Airweight
    Ruger Single Six
    Ruger Blackhawk Bisley 45 Colt