Nightstand Hand Gun What do You Use, Caliber, Brand?

This is a discussion on Nightstand Hand Gun What do You Use, Caliber, Brand? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am deciding between a 357, 9mm or 45acp for a night stand gun, I was wondering what you use and why you picked the ...

Page 1 of 14 1234511 ... LastLast
Like Tree58Likes

Thread: Nightstand Hand Gun What do You Use, Caliber, Brand?

I am deciding between a 357, 9mm or 45acp for a night stand gun, I was wondering what you use and why you picked the gun and caliber you did. I am especially interested in how you see the duty of the nightstand handgun, also, do you have any accessories on it, extra magazines or speed loader etc...

I use a Springfield Armory 1911 in .45 for my night stand gun. This particular gun was purchased as a range gun/HD gun and not to be carried since I have smaller 1911's for that purpose, I started shooting with 1911's since day one and I can't shoot anything else the way I can one of these. I keep 4 spare mags loaded and one in the gun cocked and locked, the 4 mags might be overkill but in the rare event of an extended fire fight they'll be sufficient to get me to the long guns. I keep a flash light next to the gun, just a personal thing I don't need my light attached to the gun. No lasers or anything of that sort, plain GI sights I can point shoot just fine with it if necessary.

My night stand gun is a Glock 21 .45acp. Its completely stock(I'll be putting Mepro night sights on it soon) with a loaded mag in it and a loaded mag next to it. Also keep my SureFire right next to it. Next upgrade will be a TLR-1 to go on it. That way if I ever have to involve my non-shooting hand in the may lay and happen to drop my SureFire, I'm still not without the option of light.

I have yet to carry it but I believe I've found the right holster that will let me do such. Now I just gotta get it back from my mom!