gen 2 Glock 19

This is a discussion on gen 2 Glock 19 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; A Glock newbie here.....I just traded my bow for a gen 2 Glock 19. It appears to be in great shape but my question is ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Old School

Thread: gen 2 Glock 19

gen 2 Glock 19

A Glock newbie here.....I just traded my bow for a gen 2 Glock 19. It appears to be in great shape but my question is other than no rails to install a light and the difference in the grip, is this just as good as the newer models?

2. Remove Ads

Have it checked out by a Glock Armorer. Some free internal parts replacement may be available and wise.

Cool

Welcome to the forum.

I think it is better than the newer Gen 4 but then the grip on the Gen 2 and Gen 3 fits my hand better. I do not need accessory rails on my handguns. My Gen 2 G-19 was purchased in 1994 and is one great handgun. Though I have purchased several Glocks since then Old # 1 is special. I had the slide refinished in 2010 by Robar and have replaced the sights with Big Dots along with the trigger and firing pin springs and thats been it . You have a great handgun and it will shoot more rounds faster than you bow.

photo.jpg Old # 1
    GoBigOrange likes this.
    "Violence is seldom the answer, but when it is the answer it is the only answer".

"A nation of sheep breeds a government of wolves".

http://www.woundedwarriorproject.org/

Congrats on the Bow for Glock 19 trade. Good deal in my book. Gen 2's are every bit as good as the Gen 3's as far as I'm concerned. Chasbo00 is right, it couldn't hurt to send if off to Glock and have them check it over. More than likely, they will replace some springs and a few other parts and will probably do it for free to boot.
    NRA Member
    Glock 26 XD9sc
    Ruger SR9c Ruger LCP

I agree with what the others have said. I have two gen 2's G-19s, one I bought new in 96.

Old Glock 19