Do you ever buy used?

This is a discussion on Do you ever buy used? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Being a poor college student, I've only been able to afford used guns. I purchased my Glock 23 used, and received my SIG P228 used ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Do you ever buy used?

Do you ever buy used?

Being a poor college student, I've only been able to afford used guns. I purchased my Glock 23 used, and received my SIG P228 used from my uncle as a gift. I test fired the Glock and carefully inspected to make sure it was in working order before buying it.

So far, no issues - the finish still looks new and it shoots fine.

The way I see it, if it shoots fine and looks to be in good condition, why not get one used for $100 cheaper (plus it came with 4 magazines)?

Am I wrong in my thinking? Do any of you guys buy some of your guns used?
    bmcgilvray likes this.

2. Remove Ads

Yes, I do, I own multiple rifles that are old military rifles, and have been used in the past.

Some of the best deals I have stumbled onto are police trade-in handguns. These are always quality make and model handguns, that a lot of time seem to of been carried a lot (so they have some finish wear), but usually show signs of not being shot too much. And they tend to be significantly cheaper than buying used. I'm always on the look out for police trade in's, as some holster finish doesn't bother me.

The biggest warning, is to look out for firearms that someone tried to "gunsmith" themselves, as there is no telling what they messed up, and it usually voids the warranty. But if everything appears to be as it should be, then I won't pass up a good deal just because someone else shot a gun.
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor