M&P performance

This is a discussion on M&P performance within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Took it out to the range the other day. I had not shot a 357 SIG before. I am impressed with both the weapon and ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: M&P performance

M&P performance

Took it out to the range the other day. I had not shot a 357 SIG before. I am impressed with both the weapon and the cartridge. The 357 SIG is indeed a very accurate cartridge, shooting tighter double taps than any I had shot before (understand that while I am no stranger to guns, I am new to serious handgun shooting). I did have one FTF, but that was while practicing mag changes, and I did not slap the magazine in hard enough. Seems as though they slap in easy enough with slide lock, but if there is still one in the pipe you need to be quite assertive during a reload. I asked a guy about it, and he said his Glock is the same way. Other than that, a fine gun and an exceptional cartridge.

2. Remove Ads

I have a 40 and a 357 sig barrel for my M&P compact and my Sig P229. I flip flop back and forth between which is shooting 40 & which is shooting 357 sig. Yesterday I flipped the barrels and I am now carrying 357 sig in the M&P on my hip & 357 magnum on my ankle in the 360.

When the tickle fancies me I will be back to 40 in the M&P...

The 357 sig round is super easy to control & just SIZZLES!!!! There are several reasons the Secret Service adopted this round, among them is the fact that they do not tend to misfeed due to the shape of the cartridge. I train to slap the mag in hard regardless of situation. I figure that I should always train as if dealing with a stress situation so when I am actually stressed it will be second nature.

One caliber I don't have yet is 357 Sig,I'm seriously thinking about either getting a barrel for my 229 40,or buying an M&P 357 sig ,I already have bought a 9c and 45c.