And Kimber's barrel bushing is machined from stainless bar stock...

This is a discussion on And Kimber's barrel bushing is machined from stainless bar stock... within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm curious, how many already knew that? I should do this as a poll. I'm just learning all kinds of Kimber stuff - and it's ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: And Kimber's barrel bushing is machined from stainless bar stock...

Senior Moderator

I'm curious, how many already knew that? I should do this as a poll.

I'm just learning all kinds of Kimber stuff - and it's all good!

Kimber changed from a mim barrel bushing to a machined one back in mid 97. Prior to that all the mim parts were made in Spain. Kimber owned the mim moulds that were used to make the various parts i.e. grip safety,thumb safety, front and rear sight, slide stop, magazine catch etc. CMC bought and probably still buys those parts from Kimber. Kimbers philosophy was to make everything inhouse. They have since began doing their own mim.

Kenbo
    "For those who aren't familiar with Kenbo, he worked for Kimber in Yonkers in the "early" days."
    I'm too young to be this old!
    Getting old isn't good for you!

I gotta say one thing I shot a kimber twice now it has the digital camo finish,and crimson trace grips and has CUSTOM on the left side of the slide,I have several 1911's but the kimber actually shot better groups and pointed more naturally for me.Out of about 250 rounds had 0 malfunctions
    "Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,"
    --Mayor Marion Barry, Washington , DC .

los
    I take it that you're warming-up to the Kimber, a bit..?

I can certainly relate.
    What we've got here is failure to communicate.

Senior Moderator
    Quote Originally Posted by dukalmighty View Post