.45acp is more powerful than a .357mag?

This is a discussion on .45acp is more powerful than a .357mag? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I just watched a YT vid on the Ruger Sp101 3" (I'm wanting one pretty bad), it was by Midway USA. And on their "One ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: .45acp is more powerful than a .357mag?

I just watched a YT vid on the Ruger Sp101 3" (I'm wanting one pretty bad), it was by Midway USA. And on their "One shot stop" board the .357mag had the same rating as a .40 S&W 180gr and .45acp but rated the .45acp +p 185gr and I think 165gr +p .40 S&W to be more powerful than the .357mag 125gr. Now I dont believe in any handgun having a "One shot stop" cartridge but I would think that the .357mag would whip any .40 S&W or .45acp. I am far from a ballistic expert but anybody agree with this?
    I carry a .357mag because no one bickers about the .357mag being "enough".

Keep in mind I have a whole bunch of calibers including .40 S&W and the .45acp, I dont own a .357mag yet. So I'm not partial to one of my guns or calibers. Logic just tells me that a .357mag is a bad son-of-a-gun.

Caliber wars, Chapter 127...

Over the course of modern handgun history - say from post-WWII days - the .357 magnum in 125 grain JHP configuration probably has the best record in police use in terms of fight-stopping ability. However, with wheelguns out of mainstream cop use for nearly a generation now, the auto pistol calibers have caught up and the .40 S&W is the most commonly used service round in the US today. Ergo, more chances for that round to do well. And the performance of the .45 ACP, even in FMJ, is nearly legendary. But fundamentally, the differences in downrange performance among the three loads mentioned isn't big enough to write home about... it's almost splitting hairs. Really comes down to how you define "powerful" and "one shot stop."